Indian Banks Holidays 2023

Indian Bank Holidays List is a calendar of public holidays observed by banks in India. It includes national holidays as well as state-specific holidays that are recognized by the government. These holidays are observed by banks and financial institutions in India, and their branches remain closed on these days.

The Reserve Bank of India (RBI) announces the list of holidays for all banks in India. The list includes public holidays such as Republic Day, Independence Day, Gandhi Jayanti, and religious holidays such as Diwali, Eid, and Christmas. Additionally, each state in India may have its own specific holidays which are also included in the list.

2023: Indian Bank Holidays List

It’s important to note that banks may have different holiday schedules based on the region they operate in. Therefore, it’s always recommended to check with your bank or the RBI website for the exact list of bank holidays for your state.

Date Holiday Name Description
January 26, 2023 Republic Day National holiday commemorating the adoption of the Indian Constitution
March 11, 2023 Maha Shivaratri Hindu festival celebrated in honor of Lord Shiva
April 2, 2023 Ram Navami Hindu festival celebrating the birth of Lord Rama
April 14, 2023 Dr. Babasaheb Ambedkar Jayanti Birth anniversary of Dr. B.R. Ambedkar, the chief architect of the Indian Constitution
April 15, 2023 Good Friday Christian holiday commemorating the crucifixion of Jesus Christ
May 1, 2023 May Day International Workers’ Day
May 3, 2023 Akshaya Tritiya Hindu festival celebrating prosperity and good fortune
May 13, 2023 Buddha Purnima Buddhist holiday commemorating the birth, enlightenment, and death of Gautama Buddha
July 3, 2023 Jagannath Rath Yatra Hindu festival celebrating the chariot journey of Lord Jagannath
August 15, 2023 Independence Day National holiday commemorating India’s independence from British rule
September 3, 2023 Janmashtami Hindu festival celebrating the birth of Lord Krishna